In the running

My two great passions are music and running. Ingeniously, I’ve found the perfect way of combining the two: tackling a Marathon for Music in the Community! Thus I’ll be running the Cologne Marathon on 13 October this year. For me this will complete a trio of October runs, having previously completed Loch Ness (2009) and Amsterdam (2010).

Twenty-six miles of street-pounding. I might mention that this is about the same as Sheffield to Huddersfield (though Cologne has fewer hills – phew!). It’s also, of course, the distance that Pheidippides sprinted after the battle of Marathon back to Athens before he *collapsed and died*.

I’d love you all to run with me. If not literally (and you might just have missed the training boat now) then by donating generously and sending me on my way with a huge incentive to run well! Every pound we raise will help Music in the Community to continue and extend its wonderful work in sharing music, and a love of music, with people of all ages and backgrounds. So please give as generously as you can – remembering just how jolly far away Huddersfield is

How to pay? From 1 October you will be able to donate quickly and securely online via our website.. At any point from now on (even after race day) you may send a cheque (payable to The Lindsay Foundation) to MitR Marathon, Music in the Round, 4th Floor, Sheffield Central Library, Surrey Street, Sheffield S1 1XZ. Or you could bring cash to any of our autumn concerts. Whatever and however you give – THANK YOU! You’ll spur me on to run as fast as I possibly can!

Keep in touch!

More on Music in the Community and its work is only a click away.. In the lead-up to the big day I’ll be blogging about it here, and once I leave on the Friday you’ll be able to follow my progress and send general messages of encouragement on Twitter.. You’ll find it’s just like being there, only without the Bockwurst or trainers. Or the 26-mile run.

Fraser    @frasermitr

One thought on “In the running

  1. Pingback: Marathon Money | Music in the Round

Leave a Reply

